Get Your House in Order

I am repeatedly being asked, “are you suffering from the empty nest syndrome?” My son will be departing for college in 22 days. My daughter is finishing her last year of college, and I am in THAT place. Yet it is not their departure from our family home that burdens my soul! No the current call I feel is the call to, “get my house in order.” Much like Hezekiah in Isaiah 38:1.  Hezekiah was sick unto death and the word of the Lord came to him and said, “get your house in order for, thou shalt die and not live.” (Isaiah 38:1 KJV). My past years of life have been burden with sin, pain, hopelessness, trying, failing, and falling! Much like Hezekiah’s sickness, I have had many failures in this place called life. Previously, God revealed to me, that my life had not measured up to his promises, because of my lack of faith. In reviewing my faith, I now overstand that, faith has as many layers as an onion, and runs as deep as an ocean. While my faith stands strong in who my Savior is, it fades softly in waiting on God. Where I believe beyond all belief that God will be Jehovah-Jireh, my provider, I fall short in believing that he will be my, Jehovah-Yahwe, and reveal himself to me.

Yet my readings remind me, that God breathed life into the nostrils of Adam and then placed him in the Garden of Eden to eat from the tree of life! It was the tree of  knowledge of good and evil that Adam was forbidden to eat from. His exit from Eden was to prevent him from eating from the tree of life and living forever as a God! God has always wanted us to LIVE!

So do I suffer from empty nest? No! I am suffering from the sickness of past sins, now forgiven, and my desire to stand in my now faith and LIVE out the promises of God in his perfect will. In Isaiah chapter 38, God healed Hezekiah, and added 15 years to his life. Now forgiven of my sins, failures and falls, I pray that God will be my Jehovah-Yahwe, and show me my path to destiny, that I may finish the race, and LIVE, as in Psalms 118, and declare the works of the Lord. That everyday, of the rest of my days  that God has granted, will be a living testimony, that I am the Son of God.

Leave a comment